Encourage: A Letter to my Students’ Families

encourage-cut-songs

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the definition of the word encourage is “to make someone more determined, hopeful, or confident.”  This is my goal every year as a teacher – to help my students become more determined, hopeful AND confident.

Students in the third grade start becoming more aware of both their strengths and weaknesses.  Sometimes students will focus on how they do not measure up to their peers in certain areas, rather than being proud of their abilities and doing their best to overcome challenges.  I feel it is all of our jobs as adults to encourage our children to be pleased with who they are – all of their strengths, weaknesses, and everything that makes them a one-of-a-kind human being.

My goal is that every day each student in my classroom will:

  1. gain confidence in their abilities
  2. become more determined to do their best in every task they are presented with
  3. be hopeful that despite challenges, mistakes and the occasional failure, that consistent effort will indeed produce favorable results

Do we as adults always succeed with what we set out to accomplish?  Certainly not.  However, it is how we handle both successes and failures in front of our children and students that just may impact them more than how “good” or “bad” we are at our jobs, hobbies, and everyday responsibilities.

As your child’s teacher I will do my best to encourage your son or daughter throughout the year.  I am determined to do so, confident that I have the skills to do so, and I am hopeful for an INCREDIBLE school year.  Your child deserves it.

Sincerely,

Mr. Smith

Leave a Reply

